Indian peacock information

Must watch them during your visit to these sanctuaries. There are 3 varieties of peafowl, the Indian, the Green and the Congo. Peafowl in southern India are especially fond of forests along creeks.

Indian peacock information

Peacocks are best known for their amazing eye-spotted tail feathers or plumage. Moreover, in a feral peafowl population, there is little variation in the number of eyespots in adult males.

white peacock

The lower neck is metallic green and the breast feathers are dark brown glossed with green. Some aviculturists have avoided this problem by raising eggs in incubators.

indian peafowl

The chicks are nidifugous and follow the mother around after hatching. Peafowls usually reach sexual maturity at the age of 2 to 3 years old. Their size, colour and shape of crest make them unmistakable within their native distribution range.

Apart from the Indian Peafowl and the Green Peafowl, 1 or 2 mutations have been developed by those kept in captivity.

Rated 8/10 based on 19 review
National Identity Elements